The Real Views Online – North Central Louisiana's Multicultural Magazine

serving north central louisiana and sharing it with the world

My father, the tragic hero

with one comment

By Felicia Pride, theroot.com

I’ve boycotted Father’s Day for longer than I can remember.

In content rebellion, I’d refuse to telephone my father and would avoid his call when he pined for my gratitude. I’d reject any urges to select and purchase hideous neckties or other unnecessary gifts. I’d dismiss images of sitting around a bountiful dinner table honoring the man who got my mother pregnant. And in spite that only I reveled in, I’d sometimes call my mother, the superwoman who took over when my dad indefinitely dropped out, and wish her a happy Father’s Day. Not acknowledging the paternal day of celebration was my way of punishing my father for choosing his life over caring for my own. For several years, my resistance made me feel powerful while simultaneously draining me.

For the entire story, see: http://www.theroot.com/views/my-father-tragic-hero

Written by demon53

June 20, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Real Views, william broussard. william broussard said: My father, the tragic hero: http://wp.me/pQ8Eb-gS […]


Leave a Reply

